Narcissistic personality disorder of scientists

Posted: April 6, 2012 in Neuroscience

The narcissistic personality disorder could be roughly defined as a psychological disorder in which people need to point their importance and need admiration. After few years in science I realized that a lot of scientists, especially neuroscientists (don’t ask me why), develop this kind of syndrome without thinking at the consequences…I mean looking ridicules. I’m fascinated and surprised by these kind of scientists and I started having mental trips just to understand how an intelligent person could become like that. I start thinking about possible traumas during their PhD or post-doc period, about which kind of scientific/professional education those guys have received and what does it mean for them being scientists, just matter of power and glorification?…
Of course I have never found a clear answer to my mental masturbation because in the field we’re so hypocrites that no one is brave enough to make this kind of comments (it isn’t politically correct and we like being hyper-politically correct). I’d be interested to know how other bloggers see scientists in order to understand whether it is just my mental distortion or not.

Comments
  1. […] Narcissistic personality disorder of scientists(neurostyle.wordpress.com) ShareEmailFacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Comments (0) Trackbacks (0) Leave a comment Trackback […]

  2. Human says:

    I live in the US. Here, my impression is that 9 out of 10 have NPD—or worse—and they are considered normal!
    PsychopathResistance.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

